CRW201 (HONORS)
Intro to creative writing


This course will introduce students to three creative writing genres: creative nonfiction, fiction, and poetry. Students will read published works in each genre and be expected to discuss assigned readings. Each student will submit an original work for each genre to be workshopped by the class. Coursework will include weekly readings and responses, creative exercises, quizzes, workshop pieces, critiques of peers' work, journals, and a final portfolio.


Texts Required: Show and Tell (UNCW CRW Pub Lab Textbook)
Online reading selections

Office Hours: TR 12-2 TR, W 11-1, and by appointment


View 2018 Writers’ Week Schedule here



READING SCHEDULE

 

NONFICTION

Thursday, August 23: Syllabus, Introductions, Intro to Nonfiction
     Due: Years Exercise (in-class)

Tuesday, August 28: “What is Creative Writing, Anyway?” Philip Gerard (SAT 155-167); “Cloudburst,” Peter Trachtenburg (261-263); “Witness Tree,” Cameron Dezen Hammon
Thursday, August 30: excerpt from Virginia Holman’s Rescuing Patty Hearst; Guest Lecturer Virginia Holman

Tuesday, September 4: excerpt from Garrard Conley’s Boy Erased
     Due: Memoir Scene
Thursday, September 6: “Constructing Memoir,” Sarah Messer (SAT 178-180); “The Fire,” Sarah Messer (SAT 227-237)

NONFICTION

Thursday, August 23: Syllabus, Introductions, Intro to Nonfiction
Due: Years Exercise (in-class)

 Tuesday, August 28: “What is Creative Writing, Anyway?” Philip Gerard (SAT 155-167); “Cloudburst,” Peter Trachtenburg (261-263); “Witness Tree,” Cameron Dezen Hammon
Thursday, August 30: excerpt from Virginia Holman’s Rescuing Patty Hearst; Guest Lecturer Virginia Holman

Tuesday, September 4: excerpt from Garrard Conley’s Boy Erased
Due: Memoir Scene
Thursday, September 6
: “Constructing Memoir,” Sarah Messer (SAT 178-180); “The Fire,” Sarah Messer (SAT 227-237)

HURRICANE FLORENCE

Tuesday, September 11: Hurricane
Thursday, September 13: Hurricane 

Tuesday, September 18: Hurricane
Thursday, September 20: Hurricane

Tuesday, September 25: Hurricane
Thursday, September 27: Hurricane         

Tuesday, October 2: Hurricane
Thursday, October 4: Hurricane 

FICTION

Tuesday, October 9: “Drive-In,” Donald Ray Pollock
Due: Nonfiction Outline
Thursday, October 11: “Brownies,” ZZ Packer; “Magic Words,” Jill McCorkle
     Due: Character Exercise

Saturday, October 13—Nonfiction Workshop pieces due by midnight

Tuesday, October 16: “Bikini,” Alicia Erian; Begin Prose Workshops

PROSE WORKSHOPS

Thursday, October 18: Prose Workshops

Saturday, October 20—Fiction Workshop pieces due by midnight

Tuesday, October 22: Prose Workshops
Thursday, October 24: Prose Workshops 

Tuesday, October 30: WRITERS’ WEEK
Thursday, November 1: WRITERS’ WEEK             

Tuesday, November 6: Prose Workshops

POETRY

Thursday, November 8: Intro to poetry: “What Is Poetry?”, Mark Cox (287-290); “The Witch’s Tree,” Daniel Nathan Terry (291-294)
Persona Poems—Emily Rose Cole: “Judy Garland Speaks of Her Early Career,” “Rapunzel Learns to Build,” “Bonnie Remembers the First Time,” “Daily Planet Exclusive,” “The Princess Leaves the Castle,” and “Black Widow Explains”

Tuesday, November 13: Guest Lecturer Melissa Crowe 
Due: Persona Poem exercise     
Thursday, November 15: Cortney Lamar Charleston, Camille Dungy, & Meg Day selections
Reminder: read forms of poetry; write one of your poetry journals on a form of your choice

Saturday, November 18—Workshop Poem Due by midnight

POETRY WORKSHOPS

Tuesday, November 20: Poetry Workshops
Thursday, November 22: THANKSGIVING 

Tuesday, November 27: Poetry Workshops
Thursday, November 29: Poetry Workshops 

Tuesday, December 4: Poetry Workshops

 

PORTFOLIOS—DUE DEC. 9 ON CANVAS

Portfolios should include one revised prose piece, one new prose piece, (at least) one revised poem, and one poem either new or revised (your choice). Please note that unrevised pieces will not receive full credit. Students should also include a two-page statement discussing their strengths and weaknesses as writers, what they have learned over the semester, and what they have learned about their own writing. These responses can be informal, as long as they are thoughtful and formatted properly. You can read an example here. All documents should be in Times New Roman 12 font, single-spaced poetry and double-spaced prose. Portfolios should contain, in this order: statement, original poem 1, revised poem 1, original poem 2, revised poem 2 (or one new poem), original and revised prose piece, and new prose piece. Whichever prose piece you workshopped in class, CNF or fiction, is the prose piece that should be revised. Portfolios will be uploaded (either as separate docs or one large with appropriate headers) to Canvas.